

ORGANIZATIONAL COUNCIL MEETING Minutes

Tuesday October 13,2020

An Organizational Meeting of Council was held on Tuesday October 13,2020 commencing at 6:41 pm Milo Village Office 200 Centre Street Milo, AB.

<u>Attendance</u>: Mayor Scott Schroeder Deputy Mayor Sheldon Walker CAO Wendy Hingley Councillor Derek Evernden VIA ZOOM

1. CALL TO ORDER:

- Mayor Schroeder Call meeting to order at 6:41 pm

2. SWEARING IN OF COUNCIL:

- The Chief Administrative Officer requested that each Councillor raise their right hand and read aloud the Oath of Office. Each Councillor was asked to affix their signature to the Oath of Office with their name in it and the Chief Administrative Officer witnessed each signature.

3. ACCEPTANCE OF AGENDA:

RES: NO. 2020-10-13-155

- Moved by Deputy Mayor Walker that the Organizational Meeting of Council Agenda of October 13,2020 be accepted

CARRIED

4. APPOINTMENTS

a) Mayor

RES. NO. 2020-10-13-156

-Moved by Deputy Mayor Walker that Scott Schroeder remain as Mayor

CARRIED

-The Chief Administrative Officer requested that Chief Elected Officer raise his right hand and read aloud the Oath of Office. The Chief Elected Officer was asked to affix his signature to the Oath of Office with their name in it and the Chief Administrative Officer witnessed the signing.

b) Deputy Mayor

RES.NO.2020-10-13-157

- Moved by Mayor Schroeder that Sheldon Walker continue as Deputy Chief Elected Officer

CARRIED

- The Chief Administrative Officer requested that Deputy Chief Elected Officer raise his right hand and read aloud the Oath of Office. The Deputy Chief Elected Officer was asked to affix his signature to the Oath of Office with their name in it and the Chief Administrative Officer witnessed the signing.

5. COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

RES.NO.2020-10-13-158

- Moved by Mayor Schroeder that Council appoint committee representation as follows:

a) Assessment Review Board: Oldman River Regional Services Commission

b) Canadian Badlands:

Scott Schroeder Derek Evernden Wendy Hingley

c)Chinook Arch Regional Library System Christopher Northcott

d)Director of Emergency Management Wendy Hingley

e) Deputy Director of Emergency Management Amanda Gauthier

f) Emergency Management Committee

Scott Schroeder	Wendy Hingley
Dale Deitz	Michele Tiegen
Derek Evernden	
Byron Thompson	

g) Marquis Foundation

Sheldon Walker Scott Schroeder(alternate)

h) Milo & District Rec Board

Derek Evernden(elected) Christine Egeland Lloyd Deitz Karlee Thompson

i)Milo & District Fire Association

Sheldon Walker

j) Municipal Planning Commission

Scott Schroeder(elected) Derek Evernden(elected) Leigh Vooys(member-at-large)

k) Oldman River Regional Services Commission

Sheldon Walker(elected) Scott Schroeder(alternate)

l) Chinook Intermunicipal Subdivision & Development Appeal Board (agreement in place)

Council appoints Christopher Northcott to the Board

m) Southern Alberta Energy from Waste Alliance Scott Schroeder

n) Southgrow Regional Initiative

Scott Schroeder

o) Village of Milo Library Board

Derek Evernden (2018-2021) Christopher Northcott (2019-2022) Alison Collins (2019-2022)

p) Vulcan District Waste Commission

Scott Schroeder Sheldon walker (alternate) Michele Tiegen (2019-2022) Kathy Katt (2019-2021) Tammy Lahd (2019-2022)

CARRIED UNANAMOUSLY

6. DESIGNATED OFFICER APPOINTMENTS:

RES.NO.2020-10-13-159

- Moved by Deputy Mayor Walker to appoint designated officers as follows:

a) Bylaw Enforcement Officers-Vulcan County Agreement

-Robert Pintkowski -Justin Vallee

b) Assessor-Benchmark Assessments Consultants Inc

-Logan Wehlage

c) Auditor-Scase & Partner Chartered Professional Accountant

- Darryl Scase

CARRIED

6. REGULAR COUNCIL MEETINGS

RES.NO. 2020-10-13-160

-moved by Councillor Evernden that 2nd Tuesday of each month at 6:00pm be set as Council's Regular Meeting Date

CARRIED

7. VILLAGE OFFICE/COUNCIL CHAMBERS

RES.NO.2020-10-13-161

-moved by Mayor Scott Schroeder that the building located at 200 Centre Street be named the Village Office and will also serve as Council Chambers

CARRIED

8. OFFICE HOURS

a) Post Office

RES.NO.2020-10-13-162 -moved by Deputy Mayor Walker that Post-Office Hours remain 10:00 am-2:00 pm Monday-Friday

CARRIED

b) Village Office

RES.NO. 2020-10-13-163

-moved by Mayor Schroeder that Village Office hours remain to 10am-2pm Tuesdays and Thursdays and 10:00am-4:00pm Wednesdays or by appointment

CARRIED

9. BANKING

RES.NO. 2020-10-13-164

-moved by Deputy Mayor Walker that Council continue to use Scotiabank and ATB as the primary financial institutions

CARRIED

10. SIGNING AUTHORITY

RES.NO.2020-10-13-165

-moved by Mayor Schroeder that signing authority be any two to sign and authority be given to Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Chief Administrative Officer

CARRIED

10.ADJOURNMENT

-Mayor Schroeder adjourned the meeting at 7:07pm

Scott Schroeder Mayor Wendy Hingley Chief Administrative Officer